Leominsterýs history can been seen thoughout the town, retaining its medieval and Tudor characteristics, narrow streets and timber framing. School Lane being a fine example. The townýs most distinctive building is the unique Grange Court, built in 1633 by John Abel, the Kingýs carpenter. Previously this Market House stood at the intersection of Broad, High and Burgess Streets and was used as a Butter market. This was until its removal in 1853 when it was sold at auction for a bargain price of ý95 and moved to its present site, where it was used as a private residence until 1939.
The Priory Church of Leominster was founded in 1123 , succeeding an earlier nunnery. All that remains of the monastic church are the two naves and the south aisle. The Church possesses several artefacts, one of which is a ducking stool, the last used in England in 1809. Present day Leominster has much to offer the visitor. It is a pleasant market town where on Fridays Corn Square is thronged with local people between the closely packed market stalls. Leominster is renowned for its abundance and variety of antique shops ranging from high quality antiques to cheerful bric-a-brac. Regular antique auctions are held at the Fine Art sales rooms off Ryelands Road.